Your Chakras are Out of Whack!

Haha! Got your attention, didn't I? How do you know when your chakras are out of whack? What happens when they are? What even ARE chakras?

Seven Chakra System

For those who are new to chakras, allow me to introduce you to the seven chakra system. Chakra means wheel or disk, and you've probably heard all about them in a yoga class or maybe even in a meditation context (it depends on the modality). In these contexts, chakra refers to wheels of energy in the body, most of which run along the spine. These spinning wheels all have their own color and spin on their own and together with the other chakras. When I work to clear my chakras, I visualize spinning disks that each glow with their own color.

The bottom chakras are commonly referred to as physical chakras. They are the energy centers of the physical body: root, sacral, and solar plexus.

Root Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara
Color: Red
Location: Base of Spine

Feeling anxious, ungrounded, or flighty? Chances are your root chakra is out of whack. This red chakra connects us with the earth and when it's open and spinning beautifully, you feel safe and secure. Much like a tree whose roots extend into the ground and provide stability, the root chakra provides stability to your body.

Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Svadhishthana
Color: Orange
Location: Lower Abdomen/2 Inches Below Navel

The sacral chakra is our sexuality and creativity center. Find yourself in co-dependent relationships? Hot tempered? Overindulgent in fantasies or you have a lack of sexual desire? Your sacral chakra may be out of whack since this center is associated with emotions, sensual expression, and creativity.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Manipura
Color: Yellow
Location: Upper Abdomen

Your gut. The center of your power. Your inner warrior.  The solar plexus chakra is located about where your navel is and is said to be responsible for your sense of your own power. It almost goes without saying, then, that if this chakra is out of whack, you might feel self-conscious, and your self-esteem might be suffering. Feel out of control? It can't hurt to nurture your solar plexus.

Heart Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Anahata
Color: Green
Location: Center of Chest over Sternum

The heart chakra is one of my favorites - it's the bridge between the body and the spirit. It is believed that an underactive heart chakra - often the result of heartbreak or grief - is connected to a loss of intimacy and connection with other people. An overactive heart chakra is correlated with upper respiratory issues, heart problems, and feelings of too much empathy.

Throat Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Vishuddha
Color: Blue/Turquoise
Location: Hollow of the Throat between Collar Bones

Speaking your truth and communicating with others are the two most important roles of the throat chakra. If this chakra is out of whack, you might experience cold sores, throat issues, or cavities. Personally, I can tell when my throat chakra is out of whack when my voice falters or my throat closes up.  After a quick clearing, my voice comes back and I can communicate properly again.

Third Eye Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Ajna
Color: Indigo
Location: Forehead between the Eyes

The third eye chakra contributes to harmony between ourselves and the spiritual world around us. When it's underactive, though, we can feel a disconnection from otherwise spiritual experiences. If you have sinus issues or headaches, check in with your third eye chakra - balancing it might help!

Crown Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
Color: Purple
Location: Top of Head

Finally, the crown chakra is said to govern our spiritual selves. If you feel yourself becoming addicted to spiritual experiences - especially at the detriment of more grounded experiences - check in with your crown. It might be overactive.

Want to learn more about the chakras? This is the first post in a series targeted at boosting your chakra wellness and understanding these fascinating energy centers in your body.